Running in Circles; End of the World Running Club

Apocalyptic books often have your heart racing and adrenaline pumping as you scramble for logical conclusions of what you would do at the end of the world. And although End Of The World Running Club delivered this at times, the vast majority of the book left me feeling fairly indifferent.

I think this is largely down to the author making the characters fairly unlikable; rather than encouraging the reader to will for their survival. I found myself wondering whether I really cared what happened to the group.

Usually I am easily able to paint a picture of a character in my head and they quickly take shape as I turn from page to page. However right to the last sentence, I wouldn’t have been able to describe the protagonist, nor can I recall his name even now. I believe this was probably why I felt unconnected to the story and the direction it took.

Yes the story was interesting and came from a new angle in a very crowded category, but no it didn’t deliver an electrifying read. Although it was the end of the world, it certainly didn’t feel like it once I reached the book’s conclusion.

The End of the World Running Club: Adrian J Walker

Leave a Reply

